The Invitation

Today was the day. Issa mades her First Holy Communion. Preparations for this sacrament began in January. Once a month we met with other families with children preparing for the same. We studied at home to ensure Issa understood the significance of this very important step in her journey of faith in Christ.

What a marvelous invitation: to share in the gift Jesus gave to us centuries ago. Issa is now invited to share receiving the Body and Blood of Christ each time she celebrates Mass at church.

Published by

Kate

I am a mom, writer, advocate, wife, daughter, sister, aunt, cousin, in-law, outlaw, friend, neighbor, Michigander,sports fan, moviegoer, music lover, novice yogi, sometimes runner and suburbanite of Nashville. I love my husband, children, family, friends, neighbors, home state, adopted state, country, planet, wine, beer, cocktails, coffee and Italian-Irish heritage.

4 thoughts on “The Invitation”

  1. No one truly ever forgets her/his First Communion…not even after a long, long life. Thanks for the “refreshing” of memories and perceptive thoughts.

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading. It was a very special day. I did not expect to become so emotionally vested when she and I began preparing for this back in January. My daughter wore the veil I wore at my First Communion.

      Like

Comments are closed.